Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2006/2007

* Paul A. Fuhrmann (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Department of Mathematics) is an internationally leading researcher in mathematical systems and control theory, with major contributions to operator theory, finite- and infinite-dimensional linear systems theory, and linear algebra. He is the author of close to 100 journal papers and conference proceedings, as well as of the graduate textbooks Linear Systems and Operators in Hilbert Space (McGraw-Hill, New York 1981) and A Polynomial Approach to Linear Algebra (Springer, New York 1996).

Paul Fuhrmann has studied mathematics at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem (M.Sc.) and at Columbia University (Ph.D.) and holds the Earl Katz Family Chair in Algebraic System Theory at Ben Gurion University.

He has held numerous visiting professor positions at other Universities, served as Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences at Ben Gurion University, and was Director of the Israel Science Foundation and Chairman of a National Committee on Supercomputing.

During the winter term 2006/07, Professor Fuhrmann will give a regular course (with exercises) on Linear Systems Theory which addresses to students of mathematics and physics, as well as a more specialized lecture on Systems and Behaviors in the framework of the "Graduiertenstudium" of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (see http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0607.html). All classes will be taught in English.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2006/2007

* Paul A. Fuhrmann (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Department of Mathematics) ist ein international führender Forscher auf dem Gebiet der Mathematischen System- und Kontrolltheorie, der wesentliche Beiträge zur Operatortheorie, zur endlich- und unendlichdimensionalen Systemtheorie und zur Linearen Algebra geleistet hat. Er hat annähernd 100 Publikationen und Beiträge zu Kongressbänden veröffentlicht, darüberhinaus ein Lehrbuch über Linear Systems and Operators in Hilbert Spaces (McGraw-Hill, New York 1981) sowie ein Buch mit dem Titel A Polynomial Approach to Linear Algebra (Springer, New York 1996).

Paul Fuhrmann hat an der Hebräischen Universität in Jerusalem (M.Sc.) und an der Columbia University (Ph.D.) Mathematik studiert und hat den Earl Katz Family Chair in Algebraic System Theory an der Ben Gurion University inne.

Er hat zahlreiche Gastprofessuren an anderen Universitäten wahrgenommen, war Dekan der Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Ben-Gurion-Universität, und war als Direktor der israelischen Forschungsgesellschaft und Vorsitzender des National Committee on Supercomputing tätig.

Während des Wintersemesters 2006/07 wird Professor Fuhrmann eine Vorlesung (mit Übungen) über Lineare Systemtheorie sowie eine weitere speziellere Vorlesung mit dem Titel Systems and Behaviors halten (s. http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0607.html). Alle Lehrveranstaltungen werden im Rahmen des Graduiertenstudiums angeboten und auf Englisch abgehalten.