Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2007/2008

* Nicolas Papamichael (University of Cyprus at Nicosia, Department of Mathematics and Statistics) is a leading specialist in computational complex analysis, with a particular emphasis on numerical conformal mapping theory. He is the author of more than 50 research papers and 4 books, the most recent being a monograph on Numerical Conformal Mapping onto a Rectangle (to appear).

Nicolas Papamichael held positions at various universities in the UK and was a visiting professor in Portugal. He serves on the Board of 4 international journals and organized several international conferences and workshops.

During the winter term 2007/08, Professor Papamichael will give a regular course (with exercises) on Numerical Methods in Conformal Mapping, as well as a more specialized seminar. All classes will be taught in English.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2007/2008

* Nicolas Papamichael (Universität Nicosia, Zypern, Institut für Mathematik und Statistik) ist einer der führenden Spezialisten in Numerischer Funktionentheorie, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der Numerik konformer Abbildungen. Er ist Autor von mehr als 50 Publikationen und 4 Büchern, wobei das neueste die Monographie Numerical Conformal Mapping onto a Rectangle ist (erscheint).

Nicolas Papamichael hatte Positionen an verschiedenen Universitäten in England inne und war u.a. Gastprofessor in Portugal. Er ist Mitherausgeber von 4 internationalen Zeitschriften und hat mehrere internationale Tagungen und Workshops organisiert.

Während des Wintersemesters 2007/08 wird Professor Papamichael eine Vorlesung (mit Übungen) über Numerische Methoden für Konforme Abbildungen sowie ein spezielleres Seminar halten. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen werden auf Englisch abgehalten.