Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2008/2009

* Kohji Matsumoto (University of Nagoya, Japan, Graduate School of Mathematics) is a leading specialist in analytic number theory, with an emphasis on zeta- and related functions. He has published a monograph and about 70 papers on zeta-functions of Riemann, Dedekind, Hurwitz and Lerch type, asymptotic expansions, L-functions, and related topics.

Kohji Matsumoto obtained his degree at Rikkyo University and subsequently held positions as lecturer and associate professor at Iwate University (Japan). He is currently working as a professor of mathematics at the Graduate School of Mathematics at Nagoya University. He was also invited as visiting professor (researcher) to Münster (Germany), Cardiff (UK), Lille (France), and Xian (China).

During the winter term 2008/09, Professor Matsumoto will give a regular course (with exercises) on Number Theory, as well as a more specialized seminar on elliptic functions and elliptic curves (see http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0809.html). All classes will be taught in English.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2008/2009

* Kohji Matsumoto (Universität Nagoya, Japan, Institut für Mathematik) ist ein führender Spezialist in Zahlentheorie, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Zeta- und verwandten Funktionen. Er hat ein Buch und etwa 70 Arbeiten über Zetafunktionen vom Riemann-, Dedekind-, Hurwitz- und Lerch-Typ, asymptotische Entwicklungen, L-Funktionen sowie damit zusammenhängende Fragen verfasst.

Kohji Matsumoto studierte und promovierte an der Rikkyo-Universität und hatte danach eine Professur an der Iwate-Universität (Japan) inne. Zur Zeit ist er als Professor für Mathematik am Mathematischen Institut der Universität Nagoya tätig. Er wurde auch als Gastprofessor zu Forschungsaufenthalten nach Münster, Cardiff (England), Lille (Frankreich) und Xian (China) eingeladen.

Im Wintersemester 2008/09 wird Professor Matsumoto Vorlesungen (mit Übungen) über Zahlentheorie sowie ein mehr spezialisiertes Seminar über Elliptische Funktionen und Kurven halten (s. http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0809.html). Alle Lehrveranstaltungen werden auf Englisch abgehalten.