Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Summer Term 2009

* Christopher I. Byrnes (Washington University in St. Louis, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences) is a leading researcher of world-wide reputation whose interests include (but are not restricted to) nonlinear dynamics and geometry, feedback systems and signal analysis, and other problems arising in engineering and science. He is the author of several books and over 250 papers; moreover he has holds four US patents in engineering sciences and has obtained several research grants.

Christopher Byrnes received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Massachusetts, supervised by Marshall H. Stone. He has been instructor at the University of Utah, and later joined the faculty of Harvard University as an Associate Professor. At Washington University, he served as Chairman of the Department of Systems Science and Mathematics from 1989 to 1991, and was Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences from 1991 to 2006. He is now a Skinner Professor of Systems Science and Mathematics.

He has held numerous visiting positions in Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Sweden, the Netherlands, and the former Soviet Union. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden) in 1998 and the Reid Prize from SIAM in 2005, and he received the George Axelby Award for the best paper in the IEEE Transactions in 1991.

During the summer term 2009, Professor Byrnes will give a regular course (with exercises) on Nonlinear Control Theory which addresses to students of mathematics and physics, as well as a more specialized seminar (jointly with U. Helmke and F. Wirth) on Dynamical Systems and Control Theory (see http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz09.html). All classes will be taught in English.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Sommersemester 2009

* Christopher I. Byrnes (Washington University in St. Louis, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences) ist einer der weltweit führenden Forscher u.a. auf dem Gebiet der Nichtlinearen Dynamischen Systeme, Feedback-Systeme, Signalverarbeitung und anderer Probleme aus den Natur- und Ingenieurswissenschaften. Er ist Autor einiger Bücher und hat mehr als 250 Arbeiten veröffentlicht; darüberhinaus hält er vier Patente in den USA und hat eine Vielzahl von Drittmittelprojekten eingeworben.

Christopher Byrnes promovierte in Mathematik bei Marshall H. Stone an der Universität Massachusetts, begann seine akademische Karriere an der Universität Utah und war später Assistent und Associate Professor an der Mathematischen Fakultät der Harvard Universität. An der Washington Universität war er Dekan des Fachbereichs für Mathematik und Systemtheorie von 1989 bis 1991, sowie von 1991 bis 2006 Dekan der School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Zur Zeit hat er den Skinner-Lehrstuhl im Fachbereich für Mathematik und Systemtheorie inne.

Er hat zahlreiche Gastprofessuren an anderen Universitäten wahrgenommen, u.a. in Österreich, Frankreich, Deutschland, Italien, Japan, Schweden, den Niederlanden und der früheren Sowjetunion. 1998 erhielt er die Ehrendoktorwürde des Königlichen Instituts für Technikwissenschaften in Schweden, 2005 den Reid-Preis der SIAM, and 1991 den George-Axelby-Preis für die beste Veröffentlichung in den IEEE Transactions.

Während des Sommersemesters 2009 wird Professor Byrnes für Studenten der Mathematik und Physik eine Vorlesung (mit Übungen) über Nichtlineare Kontrolltheorie sowie ein etwas spezielleres Seminar (zusammen mit U. Helmke und F. Wirth) über Dynamische Systeme und Kontrolltheorie halten (s. http://www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz09.html). Alle Lehrveranstaltungen werden auf Englisch abgehalten.