Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2009/2010

* Terry Gannon (University of Alberta at Edmonton, Canada) is an eminent mathematician with large interests in mathematical physics. In particular, he is one of the leading specialists in quantum field theory, a branch of modern physics of rapidly increasing importance with far-reaching applications to both elementary particle physics and cosmology. He is the author of a book (Cambridge Univ. Press 2006) which describes the interaction of algebra, complex analysis, geometry and physics, and he published about 60 papers.

Terry Gannon received his Ph.D. in mathematics from McGill University and he held professorships at various Universities in Canada. Moreover, he was invited as a visiting professor to France, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and the United Kingdom. He received awards as an Outstanding Researcher from York University, as well as a grant from the Canadian Science Foundation for several years, and he spent a longer period as Humboldt Fellow in Germany (Hamburg).

During the winter term 2009/10, Professor Gannon will give a regular course (with exercises) entitled An Introduction to Conformal Field Theory, as well as a more specialized seminar on The Mathematics of Conformal Field Theory (see http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0910.html). All classes will be taught in English.

In view of the interdisziplinary character of Professor Gannon's interests, all classes are addressed equally to mathematicians and physicists. Moreover, during his stay in Wurzburg (probably in December) a research workshop will be organized which is funded by the DAAD and will be announced separately.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2009/2010

* Terry Gannon (University of Alberta at Edmonton, Canada) ist ein weltweit bekannter Mathematiker, dessen Hauptinteresse der Mathematischen Physik gilt. Er ist insbesondere einer der führenden Spezialisten auf dem Gebiet der Quantenfeldtheorie, einem Zweig der modernen Physik von stark wachsender Aktualität mit weitreichenden Anwendungen sowohl in der Elementarteilchenphysik als auch in der Kosmologie. Er ist Autor eines Buches (Cambridge Univ. Press 2006) welches das Zusammenspiel von Algebra, Komplexer Analysis, Geometrie und Physik beschreibt, sowie von etwa 60 Publikationen.

Terry Gannon erhielt seinen Ph.D. in Mathematik an der McGill University und war anschliessend an verschiedenen Universitäten in Kanada tätig. Darüberhinaus wurde er als Gastprofessor nach Frankreich, Deutschland, Österreich, England und in die Schweiz eingeladen. Er bekam für seine Forschungen einen Preis der York University sowie Drittmittel von der Kanadischen Forschungsgemeinschaft, und er verbrachte als Humboldt-Stipendiat längere Zeit in Hamburg.

Während des Wintersemesters 2009/10 wird Professor Gannon Vorlesungen (mit Übungen) zum Thema An Introduction to Conformal Field Theory sowie ein spezielleres Seminar über The Mathematics of Conformal Field Theory (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz0910.html) halten. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen finden auf Englisch statt.

Im Hinblick auf den interdisziplinären Charakter von Professor Gannons Arbeitsgebiet wenden sich seine Lehrveranstaltungen übrigens gleichermassen an Mathematiker und Physiker. Während seines Aufenthalts in Würzburg (voraussichtlich im Dezember) wird an der Universität Würzburg ein Workshop stattfinden, der vom DAAD finanziert und noch gesondert angekündigt wird.