Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2011/2012

* Alois Kufner (Institute of Mathematics of the Academy of Sciences Prague) is one of the leading specialists in function spaces and their applications to Higher Analysis and Mathematical Physics.

Alois Kufner received his PhD and habilitation degree in Prague and held professorships at Charles University in Prague, the Technical University (now University of West Bohemia) in Pilsen, and the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. He was the supervisor of 14 PhD students from 4 countries, and he published 7 books and approximately 125 papers.

He was invited as a visting professor several times to Germany (Jena, Bayreuth, Heidelberg, W?zburg, N?nberg), as well as to Russia, Ukraine, the USA, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Italy, Sweden, England, Chile, and Finland. For his outstanding research achievements he received in 1984 the Bolzano Medal of the Czech Academy, and in 1985 the State Prize of the Czech Republic. Since 1985 he is Vice President of the Union of Czech Mathematicians and Physicists, since 199O member of the Executive Committee of the European Mathematical Union.

During the winter term 2011/12, Professor Kufner will give a regular course (with exercises) on Function Spaces, as well as a seminar on Inequalities (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz1112.html). The classes will be taught either in English or in German.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2011/2012

* Alois Kufner (Mathematisches Institut der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Prag) ist einer der führenden Mathematiker auf dem Gebiet der Funktionenräume und ihrer Anwendung in der Höheren Analysis und Mathematischen Physik.

Alois Kufner erhielt seinen Doktor- und Dozentengrad in Prag und lehrte als Professor an der Karls-Universität Prag, der Technischen Hochschule (jetzt Westböhmische Universität) Pilsen und der Akademie der Wissenschaften der Tschechischen Republik. Er betreute 14 Doktoranden aus 4 Ländern und publizierte 7 Bücher und etwa 125 Artikel.

Als Gastprofessor wurde er mehrmals nach Deutschland eingeladen (Jena, Bayreuth, Heidelberg, Würzburg, Nürnberg), ebenso nach Russland, in die Ukraine und in die USA, nach Kasachstan, Georgien, Italien, Schweden, England, Chile und Finnland. Für seine herausragenden Forschungen erhielt er 1984 die Bolzano-Medaille der Tschechischen Akademie und 1985 den Staatspreis der Tschechischen Republik. Seit 1985 ist er Vizepräsident der Vereinigung tschechischer Mathematiker und Physiker, seit 199O Mitglied des Executive Committee der Europäischen Mathematiker-Union.

Während des Wintersemesters 2011/12 wird Professor Kufner Vorlesungen (mit Übungen) zum Thema Funktionenräume sowie ein Seminar über Ungleichungen (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz1112.html) halten. Die Lehrveranstaltungen finden entweder auf Englisch oder auf Deutsch statt.