Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2012/2013

* Maria Stella Gelli (Department of Mathematics, University of Pisa) is a leading specialist in calculus of variations, with a particular emphasis to free-discontinuity problems, passage from discrete systems to continuum models, and on applications to Fracture Mechanics and Science of composite materials.

She received her PhD in 1999 at the renowned SISSA (Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati) in Trieste and held positions at the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Pisa, as well as at the Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa. As a visting professor she was invited to the University of Brest and the Institut Henri Poincaré(France), as well as to the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics (Spain). Currently she maintains scientific cooperations with the Universities of Rome (Italy), Madrid (Spain) and Leipzig (Germany).

She is author of a monograph on the variational approach of 'discrete to continuum' in the UMI Springer Lecture Notes series, and she has published about 20 research papers.

During the winter term 2012/13, Professor Gelli will give a regular course (with exercises) entitled "An Introduction to Calculus of Variations: Old and Recent Tools" as well as a seminar on "Asymptotics of Variational Models by Gamma Convergence" (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz1213.html). The classes will be taught in English. In view of the interdisciplinary character of Professor Gelli's interests, all classes are addressed equally to mathematicians and physicists (Master Program).

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2012/2013

* Maria Stella Gelli (Fachbereich Mathematik, Universität Pisa) ist eine der führenden Mathematikerinnen auf dem Gebiet der Variationsrechnung, mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Anwendungen auf Transportprobleme, der Verknüpfung von Geometrischer Maßtheorie und Variationsrechnung sowie der Mechanik von Verbundstoffen.

Sie erhielt ihren Doktorgrad 1999 an der renommierten SISSA (Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati) in Triest und lehrte an der Fakultät für Raumfahrt-Ingenieurswesen und der naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Pisa, daneben auch an der Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa. Als Gastprofessorin wurde sie an die Universität Brest und das Institut Henri Poincaré (Frankreich) sowie an das Basque Center for Applied Mathematics (Spanien) eingeladen. Zur Zeit unterhält sie wissenschaftliche Kooperationen mit den Universitäten Madrid, Neapel, Rom und Leipzig. Sie ist Autorin von etwa 20 Originalarbeiten.

Während des Wintersemesters 2012/13 wird Professor Gelli Vorlesungen (mit Übungen) zum Thema "An Introduction to Calculus of Variations: Old and Recent Tools" sowie ein Seminar über "Asymptotics of Variational Models by Gamma Convergence" halten (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz1213.html). Alle Lehrveranstaltungen finden auf Englisch statt. Im Hinblick auf den interdisziplinären Charakter von Professor Gellis Interessen wenden sich diese Lehrveranstaltungen gleichermassen an Mathematik- und Physik-Studentinnen und -Studenten (im Master-Programm).