Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Summer Term 2013

* Marta Lewicka (Department of Mathematics, University of Pittsburgh) is a leading specialist in partial differential equations, calculus of variations, and nonlinear analysis, with a particular emphasis on applications to reaction-diffusion equations and elasticity theory.

She received her PhD in 2000 at the renowned SISSA in Trieste, Italy, and held long-term visiting positions at Carnegie Mellon and Rutgers (USA). Moreover, she received various grants as a Principal Investigator, among them the prestigious NSF CAREER Award from 2009 up to present.

Ms. Lewicka has a vast teaching experience in virtually all fields of mathematical analysis and engineering, and has organized several conferences and meetings. She has published papers on calculus of variations, elasticity theory, fluid dynamics, conservations laws, nonlinear analysis, ODEs and PDEs.

During the summer term 2013, Professor Lewicka will give a regular course (with exercises) on Applied Analysis, as well as a seminar on Variational Multiscale Methods in Material Science (see http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz13.html). The classes will be taught in English. In view of the interdisciplinary character of Ms. Lewicka's interests, all classes are addressed equally to mathematicians, physicists, and engineers (Master Program).

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Sommersemester 2013

* Marta Lewicka (Department of Mathematics, University of Pittsburgh) ist eine führende Mathematikerin auf dem Gebiet der partiellen Differentialgleichungen, der Variationsrechnung und der Nichtlinearen Analysis, mit einem besonderen Akzent auf Anwendungen in der Elastizitätstheorie und auf Reaktions-Diffusions-Gleichungen.

Sie erhielt 2000 ihren Doktorgrad an der renommierten SISSA in Triest (Italien) und war längere Zeit als Gastprofessorin an der Carnegie- Mellon-Universität und der Rutgers-Universität (USA) tätig. Darüberhinaus leitete sie mehrere mit Drittmitteln geförderte Projekte, u.a. von 2009 bis heute mit dem renommierten NSF CAREER Award.

Frau Lewicka verfügt über eine grosse Lehrerfahrung in praktisch allen Gebieten der Mathematischen Analysis und der Ingenieurswissenschaften, und sie organisierte mehrere Tagungen und Konferenzen. Ihre Publikationen umfassen die Gebiete Variationsrechnung, Elastizitätstheorie, Hydrodynamik, Erhaltungssätze, Nichtlineare Analysis sowie gewöhnliche und partielle Differentialgleichungen.

Während des Sommersemesters 2013 wird Professor Lewicka Vorlesungen (mit Übungen) zum Thema Angewandte Analysis sowie ein Seminar über Variationsmethoden in Materialwissenschaften (s. http//www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vz13.html) halten. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen finden auf Englisch statt. Im Hinblick auf den interdisziplinären Charakter von Frau Lewickas Interessen wenden sich diese Lehrveranstaltungen gleichermassen an Mathematik-, Physik- und Ingenieurs-Student(inn)en (im Master-Programm).