Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Summer Term 2014

* This summer term the Giovanni Prodi Chair is assigned to Professor Karma Dajani from Utrecht University (The Netherlands), a renown mathematician specialising in Ergodic Theory.

In Ergodic Theory the long time behaviour of dynamical systems are studied by analytic and probabilistic methods. The origin of Ergodic Theory lies in problems arising from 19th century Statistical Mechanics; it was founded by the path-breaking works of Henri Poincar? John von Neumann, and George D. Birkhoff from the period 1890 - 1932. Meanwhile Ergodic Theory has been successfully applied to other mathematical disciplines, e.g., Number Theory (in particular, with respect to questions concerning statistics of continued fraction expansions). Recently, the 2014 Abel-Prize was awarded to Yakov G. Sinai for his important works in Ergodic Theory (among others).

The recommendable monography 'Ergodic Theory of Numbers' by Karma Dajani and Cor Kraaikamp (Math. Association of America, Washington DC 2002) is a standard reference for Ergodic Theory and its number theoretical applications. Building on this book, and going further, Karma Dajani will give a course (lectruing four hours per week plus a two hours tutorial) aimed at Master students. Basics in Functional Analysis and Number Theory may be helpful (but are not necessary).

Karma Dajani studied at the George Washington University, Washington DC, and there she finished her doctorate in 1989, supervised by the renown Ergodic theorist E. Arthur Robinson; her dissertation was about 'Simultaneous Recurrence of Weighted Cocycles'. During her studies she did win the Taylor-Prize in Mathematics twice. After several guest visits at different universities in the U.S. and the Netherlands Karma Dajani lectures at the University of Utrecht since 1995, and as a professor since 2001.

Since then Karma Dajani put her strength in promoting her field of research as well as in encouraging young scientists, in particular in the framework 'European Women in Mathematics'. Her worldwide expertise with more than forty research papers on Ergodic Theory, published in leading journals, provides a remarkable background.

On April 23 Karma Dajani will give a talk at the Mathematical Colloquium of our institute about her recent research.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Sommersemester 2014

* Mit der diesjährigen Prodi-Gastprofessorin Karma Dajani von der Universität Utrecht (Niederlande) haben wir eine international bestens ausgewiesene Mathematikerin mit Spezialgebiet Ergodentheorie in Würzburg zu Gast.

In der Ergodentheorie wird das Langzeitverhalten dynamischer Systeme mit analytischen und wahrscheinlichkeitstheoretischen Methoden untersucht. Die Ursprünge der Ergodentheorie liegen in Fragestellungen der statistischen Mechanik des 19. Jahrhunderts; begründet wurde sie durch bahnbrechenden Arbeiten von Henri Poincaré, John von Neumann und George D. Birkhoff in der Zeit von 1890 bis 1932. Mittlerweile wurden etliche Anwendungen von Ergodentheorie in anderen mathematischen Disziplinen wie beispielsweise der Zahlentheorie (insbesondere bei Fragen zu statistischen Eigenschaften von Kettenbrüchen) gefunden. Der diesjährige Abel-Preis wurde kürzlich Jakow G. Sinai für u.a. seine bedeutenden Arbeiten zur Ergodentheorie verliehen.

Das lesenswerte Buch 'Ergodic Theory of Numbers' von Karma Dajani und Cor Kraaikamp (Math. Association of America, Washington DC 2002) ist eine Standardreferenz zur Ergodentheorie und ihren zahlentheoretischen Anwendungen. Auf dieser Lektüre aufbauend, aber auch darüber hinausgehend, wird Karma Dajani eine wöchentlich vierstündige Vorlesung mit zweistündiger Übung für Studierende im Masterbereich anbieten. Hilfreich (aber nicht notwendig) sind Vorkenntnisse in Funktionalanalysis und Zahlentheorie.

Karma Dajani hat an der George Washington University in Washington DC studiert und dort 1989 bei dem renommierten Ergodentheoretiker E. Arthur Robinson mit einer Arbeit zum Thema 'Simultaneous Recurrence of Weighted Cocycles' promoviert. Während ihres Studiums wurde sie zweimal mit dem Taylor-Preis in Mathematik ausgezeichnet. Nach Gastaufenthalten und Anstellungen an diversen Universitäten in den USA und den Niederlanden ist Karma Dajani seit 1995 an der Universität Utrecht angestellt, seit 2001 als Professorin.

In dieser Zeit hat sich Karma Dajani sowohl für die Förderung ihres Forschungsschwerpunktes als auch in der Förderung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen, insbesondere im Rahmen der Aktivitäten der 'European Women in Mathematics' engagiert. Hierbei bildet ihre weltweit anerkannte Expertise mit üer vierzig Forschungsartikeln zur Ergodentheorie in renommierten Journalen einen bemerkenswerten Hintergrund. Am 23. April wird Karma Dajani im Mathematischen Kolloquium über ihre jüngsten Forschungsergebnisse berichten.