Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Summer Term 2015

* James V. Burke (Department of Mathematics, University of Washington) is an internationally renowned expert in optimization and variational analysis. He has published over 80 papers in these fields and has been an invited speaker on optimziation conferences over 70 times. He has co-organized many conferences (currently, the annual West Coast Optimization Meeting) and has acted as an associate editor for several journals in the fields of optimization and variational analysis.

As a teacher he has supervised more than 20 master's theses and over 10 PhD theses. In 2013 he was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award from the University of Washington Tolo Chapter of the Mortar Board.

James V. Burke received his PhD from the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign) in 1983. He became an assistant professor at the University of Kentucky (Lexington) in 1983. Afterwards he got an assistant professorship at the University of Washington (Seattle) in 1985, was promoted to associate professor in 1991, and finally became a full professor in 1997. He is also and adjunct professor of Statistics, Bioengineering and Applied Mathematics.

He had stints at the Argonne National Laboratories, University of New South Wales, Université de Pau, and Vietnam National University.

During the summer term 2015 Prof. Burke will give a lecture on Modern Trends in Optimization (with exercises). He will also hold a seminar on Statistical Learning (s. www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv15.html).

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Sommersemester 2015

* James V. Burke (Department of Mathematics, University of Washington) ist ein international renommierter Experte der mathematischen Optimierung und variationellen Analysis. Auf diesen Forschungsgebieten hat er mehr als 80 Arbeiten veröffentlicht und wurde über 70 Mal als Vortragender auf Fachtagungen eingeladen. Er hat zahlreiche Konferenzen mitorganisiert (derzeit ist er mit dem jährlich stattfindenden West Coast Optimization Meeting (WCOM) betraut) und war Mitherausgeber zahlreicher Fachzeitschriften zur Optimierung und variationellen Analysis.

Als Lehrender hat er über 20 Masterarbeiten und mehr als 10 Doktorarbeiten betreut. In 2013 wurde mit dem Excellence in Teaching Award des University of Washington Tolo Chapter of the Mortar Board ausgezeichnet.

James V. Burke erhielt seinen Doktorgrad (PhD) 1983 an der University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign). Im selben Jahr wurde er Assistant Professor an der University of Kentucky (Lexington). 1985 wechselte er, ebenfalls als Assistant Professor, an die University of Washington (Seattle). Hier wurde er 1991 zum Associate und 1997 zum Full Professor befördert. Er ist außerdem Adjunct Professor der Statistik, des Bioingenieurwesens und der Angewandten Mathematik.

Foschungsaufenthalte führten ihn unter anderem an die Argonne National Laboratories, an die University of New South Wales, die Université de Pau und die nationale Universität von Vietnam.

Im Sommersemester 2015 wird Prof. Burke eine Vorlesung zum Thema Modern Trends in Optimization (mit Übungen) sowie ein Seminar mit dem Titel Statistical Learning halten (s. www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv15.html).