Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2015/2016

* Gabriella Puppo, from the Dipartimento di Scienza e Alta Tecnologia of the Università Insubria in Como, Italy, is a leading numerical analyst.
Her research field has grown during the years, beginning with numerical methods for hyperbolic problems, to also include numerics for kinetic models, and modeling in non-equilibrium problems. She concentrates on the development of numerical schemes for complex applications, where particular care is taken to preserve properties of the exact solution, down to the discrete level.

She obtained her PhD in 1990 from the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences of New York University. She then accepted a position in the Department of Mathematics of the Politecnico of Torino, transferring to the Università dell'Insubria in 2012. Of her many scientific cooperations we shall mention these from the past two years: she has visited our Würzburg Institut für Mathematik in 2014, and has been visiting professor at the University of Bordeaux and Nice. She has many research papers published in the best scientific Journals of the field.

During the winter term 2015/16 Professor Puppo will give a course titled "Introduction to hyperbolic equations and their numerical integration" (see www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv1516.html). The lectures will be in English, the accompanying exercise sessions will be taught in German with the help of Wasilij Barsukov. Necessary prerequisites for the class are basic bachelor level courses in analysis, and if possible some experience in basic programming.

y
Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2015/2016

* Gabriella Puppo ist eine führende Wissenschaftlerin auf dem Gebiet der numerischen Analysis. Sie kommt von dem Dipartimento di Scienza e Alta Tecnologia of the Università Insubria in Como, Italien.
Die Anzahl ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgebiete ist im Laufe der Jahre gewachsen, von numerischen Methoden für hyperbolische Probleme, Numerik kinetischer Modelle bis hin zur Modellierung von Nicht-Gleichgewichts Problemen. Sie konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung numerischer Verfahren von komplexen Anwendungen, mit einem besonderen Augenmerk darauf, dass Eigenschaften der exakten Lösung bei dem diskreten Problem auch beibehalten werden.

Sie hat 1990 am Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences der New York University promoviert. Anschließend nahm sie eine Stelle am mathematischen Institut der Politecnico von Torino an, um 2012 zur Università dell'Insubria zu wechseln. Sie hat viele internationale wissenschaftliche Kooperationen. Aus den letzten zwei Jahren seien hier erwähnt: ein Besuch am Würzburger Institut für Mathematik im Jahre 2014 und Gastprofessuren in Bordeaux und Nizza.

Im Wintersemester 2015/16 wird Frau Prof. Puppo die Vorlesung "Introduction to hyperbolic equations and their numerical integration" halten (siehe www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv1516.html). Die Vorlesung wird auf Englisch abgehalten, die zugehörigen Übungen werden auf Deutsch mit der Hilfe von Wasilij Barsukow gehalten. Voraussetzungen für die Vorlesung sind die Analysis I - III und möglicherweise etwas Programmierkenntnisse.