Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Summer Term 2016

* RNDr. Martin Kružík is a head of the Department of Decision-Making Theory at the Institute of Information Theory and Automation of the Czech Academy of Sciences. His expertise lays in calculus of variations and its application to materials science.

He received his Ph.D. degree from Charles University in Prague in 1997, habilitation from the Technical University in Munich in 2006 and from Charles University in 2014. During 1996-98, he was a Fulbright fellow at the University of Minnesota. He spent 1998-99 as a postdoctoral associate at the Max-Planck-Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences in Lepizig and 2000-02 as a researcher at the Center of Advanced European Studies and Research in Bonn.

Martin Kružík is a (co)-author of more than 70 papers and he is a recipient of the Otto Wichterle Award and the Josef Hlávka Prize.

In the summer term 2016 Martin Kružík will teach a course "Mathematical Continuum Mechanics" and a seminar "Special topics in the calculus of variations" (see www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv16.html). Both will be taught in English.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Sommersemester 2016

* RNDr. Martin Kružík ist Leiter der Abteilung Decision-Making Theory am Institute of Information Theory and Automation der Tschechischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Sein Fachgebiet sind Variationsrechnung und deren Anwendung in den Materialwissenschaften.

Er promovierte 1997 an der Karls-Universität in Prag und habilitierte 2006 an der TU München und 2014 an der Karls Universität. Von 1996 bis 1998 war er als Fulbright - Stipendiat an der Universität von Minnesota. Von 1998 bis 1999 arbeitete er als Postdoc am Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften in Leipzig und von 2000 bis 2002 als Wissenschaftler am Forschungszentrum caesar (Center of Advanced European Studies and Research) in Bonn.

Martin Kružík ist Co-Autor von mehr als 70 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und wurde mit dem Otto Wichterle und dem Josef Hvalka Preis ausgezeichnet.

Im Sommersemester 2016 hält Martin Kružík eine Vorlesung zu "Mathematical Continuum Mechanics" und betreut das Seminar "Special topis in the calculus of variations" - beides in englischer Sprache (siehe www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv16.html).