Deutsch
  • header image
Institut für Mathematik

Giovanni Prodi Visiting Professor Winter Term 2016/2017

* Michael Forger holds a chair in Applied Mathematics at the Instituto de Matemática e Estatística of the Universidade de São Paulo in São Paulo, Brazil.

His areas of research are Mathematical Physics (Classical and Quantum Field Theory) and Biomathematics (Mathematical Models for Processes in Genetics), which requires applying methods from many different areas of Pure Mathematics and often developing new ones. Apart from a book on "Elementary Field Theory" (with H. Römer, in German), he has published almost 50 research articles and supervised more than 10 PhD theses. Present research focusses on the further development of the covariant hamiltonian formalism for classical field theory and related questions from global analysis.

He obtained his PhD in 1980 from the Freie Universität Berlin with a thesis on "Differential Geometric Methods in Nonlinear Sigma Models and Gauge Theories" and worked from 1980 to 1992 at the Universität Freiburg, first as an assistant professor and, after his Habilitation in 1986, as an associate professor. Between 1984 and 1986, he went on leave to work as a research fellow at CERN. In 1992, he moved to Brazil to assume his present position.

During the winter term 2016/17, Prof. Forger will offer a graduate course on "Geometric Methods in Field Theory - Covariant Hamiltonian Formalism" - either in German or in English, depending on the public (see www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv1617.html).
Prerequisites for a good understanding are the contents of a first course on differential geometry (calculus on manifolds), as taught in the regularly offered course with the same title (M=ADGM), and some basic concepts from the theory of fiber bundles and from symplectic geometry, which will however be reviewed to the extent necessary.

Contact

Institut für Mathematik
Campus Hubland Nord
Emil-Fischer-Straße 40
97074 Würzburg

Phone 0931/31-82329

Find Contact

Emil-Fischer-Str. 40 Emil-Fischer-Str. 30

Giovanni-Prodi-Gastprofessur im Wintersemester 2016/2017

* Michael Forger ist Inhaber eines Lehrstuhls für Angewandte Mathematik am Instituto de Matemática e Estatística der Universidade de São Paulo in São Paulo, Brasilien.

Seine Forschungsgebiete lassen sich der Mathematischen Physik (Klassische Feldtheorie / Quantenfeldtheorie) und Biomathematik (Mathematische Modelle für Prozesse in der Genetik) zuordnen, wobei Methoden aus den verschiedensten Gebieten der reinen Mathematik zum Einsatz kommen und oft auch neu zu entwickeln sind. Neben einem Buch über "Elementare Feldtheorie" (mit H. Römer) hat er knapp 50 Fachpublikationen verfasst und über 10 Dokorarbeiten betreut. Derzeit liegen die Schwerpunkte auf der weiteren Entwicklung des kovarianten Hamilton-Formalismus für die klassische Feldtheorie und damit verwandten Fragen aus der globalen Analysis.

Er hat im Jahre 1980 an der Freien Universität Berlin mit einer Arbeit über "Differentialgeometrische Methoden in Nichtlinearen Sigma-Modellen und Eichtheorien" promoviert und war in den Jahren von 1980 bis 1992 an der Universität Freiburg tätig, zunächst als Hochschulassistent und, nach seiner Habilitation im Jahre 1986, als Universitätsprofessor auf Zeit, unterbrochen durch einen zweijährigen Forschungsaufenthalt als "fellow" am Europäischen Kernforschungszentrum CERN (1984-1986). Im Jahre 1992 folgte er dann einem Ruf auf seine jetzige Stellung.

Im Wintersemester 2016/17 wird Prof. Forger eine Vorlesung über "Geometrische Methoden in der Feldtheorie und Kovarianter Hamilton- Formalismus" halten - wahlweise auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch, je nach Publikum (siehe www.mathinfo.uni-wuerzburg.de/vv1617.html).
Wünschenswert sind Vorkenntnisse aus der Differentialgeometrie, wie sie in der regelmässig angebotenen gleichnamigen Vorlesung (ADGM) vermittelt werden, und einige Grundkonzepte aus der Bündeltheorie sowie der symplektischen Geometrie, die aber im erforderlichen Umfang mitbehandelt werden.