piwik-script

Deutsch Intern
  • Mathematical formulas on a blackboard
Mathematical Fluid Mechanics

Seminar

Hyperbolic equations: Structure preserving numerical methods and other topics

More  information and recordings of the talks can be found online.

Winter term 2021/22:

- Friday, Sept. 24, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Remi Abgrall (Zürich Univ), "On non standard discretisations of the Euler equations: staggered grids, using conservative and non conservative formulations"

- Friday, Oct. 1 at 3 pm GMT+1:

- Friday, Oct. 8 at 3 pm GMT+1: Stéphane Brull (Bordeaux, France)

- Friday, Oct. 15 at 3 pm GMT+1: Giovanni Russo (Catania, Italy)

- Friday, Oct. 22 at 3 pm GMT+1: David Ketcheson (Saudi Arabia), "Carbuncles in the kitchen sink: approximate Riemann solvers and the shallow water circular hydraulic jump"

- Friday, Oct 29 at 3 pm GMT+1: Lorenzo Pareschi (Ferrara, Italy),

- Friday, Nov. 5 at 3 pm GMT+1: Francis Filbet (Toulouse, France),

- Friday, Nov. 12 at 3 pm GMT+1: Dmitri Kuzmin (Dortmund, Germany): “Monolithic convex limiting and entropy fixes for finite element discretizations of hyperbolic problems”

- Friday, Nov. 19 at 3 pm GMT+1: Walter Boscheri (Ferrara, Italy), “High order schemes for the 3D Navier-Stokes equations at all Mach numbers”

- Friday, Nov. 26 at 3 pm GMT+1: Matteo Semplice (Como, Italy)

- Friday, Dec. 3 at 3 pm GMT+1: Raphael Loubère (Bordeaux, France), "Positivity preserving and entropy consistent approximate Riemann solvers dedicated to Finite Volume discretization of gas dynamics - towards bridging Lagrangian and Eulerian Riemann solvers"

- Friday, Dec. 10 at 3 pm GMT+1: Frank Martin (Karlsruhe, Germany)

- Friday, Dec. 17 at 3 pm GMT+1:

Summer term 2021:

- Friday, June 4, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:  Chi-Wang Shu (Brown Univ., USA), "Stability of time discretizations for semi-discrete high order schemes for time-dependent PDEs" view abstract

- Friday, May 28, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:  Matthias Maier (Texas A&M USA), "Efficient parallel 3D computation of the compressible Euler equations with an invariant-domain preserving second-order finite-element scheme" view abstract

- Friday, May 21, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:  Christiane Helzel (Düsseldorf, Germany), "A Numerical Approach for a Coupled System Describing Sedimentation in Suspensions of Rod-Like Particles", view abstract

- Friday, May 14, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:  Deep Ray (Univ. South. Calif, USA), "A data-driven approach to predict artificial viscosity in high-order solvers", view abstract

- Friday, May 7, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:   Claus-Dieter Munz (Stuttgart), "Sharp interface modelling of phase change in two-phase flow", view abstract

- Friday, April 30, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Bojan Popov (Texas A&M USA), "Invariant-domain preserving approximation of the compressible Euler equations with tabulated equations of state", view abstract

- Friday, April 23, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:  Mohammed Lemou (Rennes, France), "Highly-oscillatory evolution equations: averaging and numerics", view abstract

- Friday, April 16, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1:   Qin Li (Univ. of Wisc., Madison, USA), "Low rank structure in the forward and inverse kinetic theory", view abstract

- Friday, April 9, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: François Dubois (Université d'Orsay, France), "An asymptotic expansion approach to the lattice Boltzmann method with applications to compressible Navier Stokes equations" view abstract

- Friday, Mar. 26, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Dinshaw Balsara (Notre Dame, South Bend, USA), "Divergence- and Curl Constraint Preserving Higher Order Schemes", view abstract.

- Friday, Mar. 19, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Saray Busto (Trento, Italy), "Semi-implicit hybrid finite volume-finite element schemes for all Mach number flows" view abstract

- Friday, Mar. 12, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Jeff Haack (Los Alamos Lab, USA), "A new grazing collision approximation to the Boltzmann collision operator for plasmas" view abstract,download the slides of the lecture here

- Friday, Feb. 26, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Jean-Luc Guermond (Texas A&M, USA), "Robust invariant domain preserving approximation of the compressible Navier-Stokes equations" view abstract,  download the slides of the lecture here

- Friday, Feb. 19, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Francois Bouchut (Marne-la-Vallée, France), "Two examples of multi well-balanced schemes for shallow water type systems" view abstract,     download the slides of the lecture here

- Friday, Feb. 12, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Praveen Chandrashekar (Bangalore, India), "Divergence-free DG schemes for hyperbolic problems", view abstract

- Friday, Feb.  5, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Cory Hauck (Oakridge National Lab, Knoxville, USA), "Discontinuous Galerkin methods and the diffusion limit" view abstract

- Friday, Jan. 29, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Yulong Xin (Ohio State Univ. USA). "Arbitrary order structure preserving discontinuous Galerkin methods for hyperbolic balance laws" view

- Friday, Jan. 22, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Sergey L Gavrilyuk (Marseille, France), "Involutions of curl-type : from quantum mechanics to multiphase flows" view abstract

- Friday, Jan. 15, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Shi Jin (Shanghai, China): "Semiclassical computational methods for quantum dynamics with band-crossing and uncertainty" view abstract

- Friday, Jan.  8, 2021 at 3 pm GMT+1: Bruno Despres (Paris), "Neural Networks and numerical analysis of PDEs" view abstract

 

2020:

  •